top of page

I don’t belong to any faction in the Fuji Music – Commy Jackson

Alhaji (Dr) Sulaimon Akanmu Ademola, popularly known as Commy Jackson is no doubt an icon in the Fuji industry, not only in Oyo State, but throughout Nigeria. In this exclusive interview with Glitter News Online Crew led by Abiodun Adeniyi and Adeyinka Olugbodi, the Osupa Adinni of Ibadanland revealed his relationship with one of his former band boys, Taye Currency and why he decided to change his nickname to ‘Mr. No Serious’. He also spoke on what his fans expect from him in his next album, among other issues. Enjoy:

Can you tell us about yourself?

I am Alhaji (Dr) Sulaimon Akanmu Ademola, popularly known as Commy Jackson. I attended Abiola Jacob Primary School. From there, I proceeded to Oke Bola Comprehensive High School, all of them in Ibadan. I didn’t have the opportunity to further beyond that. The reason was not because I didn’t want to do so but due to some peculiar circumstances.

Where did you come about your nickname, Commy Jackson?

I carved out a niche for myself through the influence of my boss, Alhaji Mukaila Atanda. He is also known as the Commissioner amongst his admirers. He has been my pillar of support and someone who I respect a lot because he always have interest of those close to him at heart, especially the people under his tutelage. I will never forget him. Infact, I was the one who shortened his nickname to Commy. Apart from him, I have two other role models that I cherish a lot. They are, Biliaminu, a.k.a Baba Oluyole and Sulaimon Adigun, Caterpillar.

How did you start your music career?

I started my career at my father’s backyard. It was Biliaminu, Baba Oluyole that came to perform at my father’s house who gave me the opportunity to showcase my talent that day. But I never had the opportunity to move close to him at the time Later, I met Sulaimon Adigun, “Caterpillar”, who was a very close friend to Baba Oluyole and I joined the Caterpillar band. It was after that, that I formed my own band.

What were your parents’ reactions to your choice of career?

There was a particular day that my parents met me at Ikogosi, Ekiti state, performing and they were surprised with my display. Although, before this time, they were not happy that I choose to be an artiste but later they supported me with prayers. Actually, they wanted to buy musical instruments for me but unfortunately, they were not able to do this for me before they died.

We heard that Taye Currency was once your band member, how true is this?

Yes, it is true. But, I’ve gone far in Fuji music before Taiye joined me. It was his twin brother, Kehinde, that first joined my band. Infact, Taiye was so close to me to the extent that, if I wanted to do anything, I always follow his advice. Even if it has to do with dating a lady, if he says no, I respect his advice.

There is a rumour that since Taiye Currency left your band, things have not been rosy for you?

That is a blatant lie. There is nothing like that. There is time for everybody. When God says it is your own time, nobody can stop you. Since he left, I have continue to excel in my chosen career. I also thank God for his life. Both of us are making waves in our own respects. God has deposited glory to each person, the glory of moon is different from the stars, so, we are both making wave. Taiye Currency sees me as his brother and mentor. You know, fans always want to cause problem between two musicians. It is normal. It is part of the business.

If not music, what other career would you have pursued?

If at all I don’t sing, I would have love to be an automobile engineer. When I was young, I love to design things, such as cars and all such. This is my other passion. For now, music is in my blood.

You said you wanted to change your name from Commy Jackson to Mr Finest. Why did you title your next album Mr No serious?

Thank you for this question. I titled my song Mr. No serious because although, people thought that I’m not serious but I have been able to carry my music all over the world. I wanted to understand that nobody who is unserious can achieve what I have been able to achieve through my music. Everybody should just do his own thing. If God is behind you, the sky is not your limit.

Many artistes have diversified into the film industry. Will you like to act in the future?

I love acting and that was what led me to feature in Owo Gbemu. The film was produced by Baba Wande. I also featured in Ife Doran was directed by Teniola. I am a friend to many actors and actresses such as Toyin Adegbola (Ajoke Asewo To Re Mecca), Gbolagade Akinpelu, Eluwole, Remi Adedeji, Ogogo, Saheed Balogun, Digboluja, Amugbekun, Ogun Majek and others.

Are any of your children interested in music?

Yes, all my children love singing. Although, there is an Imam and a Doctor among them, but I have a daughter, called Amidalat Ashabi Tomiwa, her nickname is Temmy Dollar, who is into Fuji also like myself.

When you started singing, what were the challenges you have faced so far?

They are too numerous to mention. But today, I thank God for everything. Do I talk about the time that thugs destroyed our musical instruments and smashed our cars or when we were harassed by louts. Even to feature on radio and television stations was indeed a big trouble. But now, we are now the toast of the town and the world at large.

There are many factions in Fuji music. Which faction do you belong to?

Thank you for this question. To be frank, we are all friends. Alhaji Wasiu Ayinde is our boss. I don’t belong to any faction. For myself, I operate an open door policy. Any Fuji artiste can visit me anytime they want.

Commy Jackson on stage at a function in Omi-Adio, Ibadan

Tell us your happiest moment?

My happiest moment was when I was ordained as Osupa Adinni of Ibadanland. Three days after I was turbaned, I was given Ireland and United States of America visas and no musician has ever been given such opportunity before me. It has paved way for me to perform outside Nigeria.

Commy Jackson on stage during a function at Omi Adio, Ibadan

How many albums have you have released so far?

At the moment, I have released over 13 albums. Some of them are, Super Star, Experience, Most Wanted, Heritage, Saudi Experience, Transformation, Commy Jay In London, Appreciation and so on. My upcoming album is titled Mr. No Serious.

How have you been able to combine your musical career with your home front?

By the special grace of God, I have only one wife and I’m blessed with children. I have a happy home. My wife and children understand the nature of my job. They have been my pillar of support. Without them, I would not have been able to attain this level in my career. Some of my children are in higher institutions and some of them are also graduates who are gainfully employed. I’m blessed with a wonderful family.

How are you coping with female fans?

Women are part of music. But one has to be level-headed and know what one is doing. It is not good to mix business with leisure. I appreciate my female fans but, like I said, I don’t go beyond business.


bottom of page